2000, 2008, 2016: Combined participation in the Democratic and Republican primaries.

1996, 2012: Includes only the Republican primary. In these years there was no Democratic primary because there was an incumbent Democratic president running for reelection.

2004, 2020: Includes only the Democratic primary. In these years  there was/is a Republican president running for reelection