To qualify for Crain's list, organizations must be tax-exempt 501(c)(3) health care nonprofits headquartered in the New York area. This includes New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties in New York, and Bergen, Essex, Hudson and Union counties in New Jersey. Hospitals, health systems, home health care, rehabilitation centers, medical practice groups, research institutions and universities are excluded.